Is Sci-Fi Still Literature’s Unacknowledged Offspring?

From left: Jonathan Kent, Charles Stross, Ann Vandermeer, Ken McLeod

From left: Jonathan Kent, Charles Stross, Ann Vandermeer, Ken McLeod

I found myself at WorldCon last month. I say found myself because although it had been on my radar (thanks to a tip off from someone more plugged into all things sci-fi and fantasy than I) I’d pitched the idea of a piece to the radio edition of the BBC’s Click! and had heard nothing back. So I rather let it slide.

However one Saturday in August I made my way up to town to interview Andy, a guy doing good things for charity, also as part of a piece for Click! which took me to the Excel (awful venue). And Lo! Well blow me if I didn’t find myself walking past WorldCon which happened to be in the same venue as the start of Andy’s charity race.

So being there with my recording kit, and being given to seeing coincidences as opportunities, I blagged a press pass for myself.

I have to say it was great fun and few things give me as much pleasure as interviewing authors. I’m fascinated by the process of writing. I write myself not just for a living but because it’s what I do. I write. It makes me happy.

I’m also very intrigued by sci fi. I read reams of the stuff in my teens much of it pretty awful. When sci fi was very good the publishing establishment would tend not to label it sci fi. When it was bad it would be offered up as fodder to the spotty and stupid (for thus I suspect consumers of sci fi were seen by publishers).

But could this be changing? It was a subject I explored with the Edinburgh-based writers Charles Stross and Ken McLeod and with an editor, Anne Vandermeer, who hails from the US.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is Sci-Fi Still Literature’s Unacknowledged Offspring?

  1. Pingback: The Future Starts Here… | Land of Oak and Iron

Leave a Reply

